Explore The Grounds
All the family can enjoy the stunning grounds at Kirkleatham Museum.
With so much to explore, excitement and adventure is guaranteed for visitors of all ages.
Kirkleatham Old Hall Museum
The museum occupies the splendid former free school built in 1709 by Cholmley Turner. It was opened as the local history museum for the borough in 1981 to house existing collections brought in from elsewhere.
Kirkleatham Museum Shop
The shop sells a vast range of gifts and souvenirs, traditional toys and books to mark your day at the museum. The shop also stocks cold drinks, ice-creams and refreshments.
Kirkleatham Museum Reference Library
The reference library has been recently reorganised and is available for private research. The collection includes a comprehensive selection of books including local history information, comprising publications, leaflets, press cuttings, parish registers and maps.
Sir William Turner’s Hospital and Chapel
Also known as the Almshouses*, the Sir William Turner’s Hospital was founded in 1676 to provide sheltered accommodation for twenty elderly people and twenty orphans. Please be respectful of the residents who live here.
St Cuthbert’s Church* and Mausoleum
The churchyard has been sacred ground for over 1,000 years. The Vikings used it for a burial ground in the 9th century. A stone coffin from this period stands inside the church. The old church was demolished in 1763 and re-built by Robert Corney, a Coatham stonemason and joiner.
The Stable Block* and Toasting Gate
The stables and nearby buildings were originally associated with the now-demolished Kirkleatham Hall. Regardless, the magnificent character of the existing buildings has been retained largely due to the quality of its architecture. At its centre is the wonderfully designed courtyard featuring the eye-catching tower and original stables. Beyond the stable block the old carriage drive sweeps through the arch of the Toasting Gate, one of the few original garden features that remain intact.
Kirkleatham Showground and surrounding land
The showground comprises 18 hectares (45 acres) of open grassed space, which is open to public access and has occasional use as a venue for activities and events. Adjacent to this area is an additional nine hectares of woodland and landscaped area with a footpath and public access.
Despite having no railway, Kirkleatham does have a row of railway cottages from 1847, which were dismantled and moved from Redcar in 1861 when the railway line was extended to Saltburn. Designed by John Middleton, these are the last remaining buildings of the Middlesbrough-Redcar Railway. Please be respectful of the residents who live here.
Kirkleatham Owl Centre
The Centre is home to a remarkable collection of owls, hawks, vultures, meerkats and mongooses. Please note admission fee applies.
Get ready for a Halloween experience like no other! Step into the world of horror as you journey through various haunted attractions, filled with terrifying scares and spine-chilling effects. It may only be one night, but the memories will haunt you forever….
Scream factory is the only multi-award winning Halloween Scare event in the North East.
The museum grounds features a new state of the art play area for children up to the age of 12. Surrounding the play areas are picnic benches, a new maze and a flat lawn.
The Walled Garden is situated within the wider historic Kirkleatham estate, which is also home to the Kirkleatham Museum. In 2021 the garden underwent restoration work to restore its former glory and, while utilising much of its original design, now features formal gardens, a splash area, an art gallery and a glasshouse, along with a café, a retail area and a 350-seat pavilion, which is available for events such as weddings, Gala Dinners and corporate events.